American Stout – March 7th 2015

american stout

I should start this post off by mentioning that my wife loves dark beer.  She absolutely loves some big imperial stouts, and I like to make my wife happy.

Now that I’ve got that out of the way, let’s get on to the brew day and recipe.

I decided to brew an american stout recipe from the classic styles book for my wife since I primarily brew IPA’s and you have to break up the repetition once in a while…

I followed the recipe for the most part.  I did however, use cascade hops since I didn’t have Horizon hops, and centennial and cascade are really similar to centennial.  I also had a crap ton of cascade from one of my first hop orders and needed to get rid of them.  The brew day itself went pretty much spot on other than slightly undersparging which caused my OG to come in a little high.  The beer was technically in the imperial stout range when it finished fermenting.  My notes are not with me at the moment but I believe the beer finished at 8.5%ABV and due to a hop substitution mix up came out a lot more like an imperial black IPA than a stout.

American Stout

All Grain Recipe

Submitted By: cjhudson101

Brewer: Chudson
Batch Size: 6.00 gal Style: American Stout (13E)
Boil Size: 7.00 gal Style Guide: BJCP 2008
Color: 42.6 SRM Equipment: MY GEAR Pot and Cooler ( 6 Gal/19 L) – All Grain
Bitterness: 65.6 IBUs Boil Time: 60 min
Est OG: 1.070 (17.1° P) Mash Profile: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Est FG: 1.017 SG (4.3° P) Fermentation: Ale, Two Stage
ABV: 7.1% Taste Rating: 30.0
Ingredients
Amount Name Type #
14 lbs Pale Malt, 2 row (Gambrinus) (2.0 SRM) Grain 1
1 lbs Black (Patent) Malt (500.0 SRM) Grain 2
12.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt – 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 3
12.0 oz Chocolate Malt (450.0 SRM) Grain 4
4.5 oz cascade [5.5%] – Boil 60 min Hops 5
1.00 Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15 min) Misc 6
1.00 tsp Yeast Nutrient (Boil 15 min) Misc 7
2.5 oz Cascade [5.5%] – Boil 5 min Hops 8
2 pkgs Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) Yeast 9
