Robust Porter

IMG_20131228_110458

Every December my friend Kevin comes home to visit for the holidays, and every December we proceed to play lots of video games, drink lots of beer, and have a grand ol’ time.  This year was no exception, however this was the first year that Kevin started home brewing!  With a little encouragement from myself, Kevin has brewed about a half dozen batches of beer now and the last few have turned out pretty good!

I was due for a brew session around the time that he visited, so we decided to make a day of it.  We broke out the whole brew system as you can see in the picture above, and brewed a robust porter from Jamil’s classic styles book that my wife selected.  I planned to put a little spin on the recipe by adding cacao nibs to the finished beer for a nice dark chocolate taste.

The brew day was pretty much autopilot the whole time, minus a lower than planned started gravity.  My OG was 1.058, which translated to a final ABV of 5.5%.  At first this annoyed me to no end but I later realized that having a 5.5% beer on tap is a great thing.  This beer borders on sessionable, the body on this beer is perfect, and the flavor is fantastic.  Since the beer has gone on tap, I have enjoyed at least a pint every night.  I also attended my first home brew club meeting this week, and I received lots of compliments on this beer.

After the boil was complete, I pitched my 1.5L yeast starter and walked away.  The beer fermented in about 4-5 days and dropped really clear.  I moved the beer to a keg, added my nibs into my stainless steel dry hopper, and let the beer sit for about 2 weeks.  Once the two weeks were over, I removed the nibs, chilled the keg down to serving temps, and force carbonated.

I am really enjoying this beer and I need to put some of it in a few bottles to send to Kevin.

I believe he also made a porter when he got home, we’ll have to compare the results…

First try porter, now with nibs!!! 

All Grain Recipe

Brewer: Chudson
Batch Size: 6.00 gal Style: Robust Porter (12B)
Boil Size: 8.02 gal Style Guide: BJCP 2008
Color: 30.9 SRM Equipment: MY GEAR Pot and Cooler ( 5 Gal/19 L) – All Grain
Bitterness: 28.2 IBUs Boil Time: 60 min
Est OG: 1.064 (15.6° P) Mash Profile: Single Infusion, Medium Body
Est FG: 1.015 SG (3.7° P) Fermentation: Ale, Two Stage
ABV: 6.5% Taste Rating: 30.0
Ingredients
Amount Name Type #
10 lbs 8.0 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1
1 lbs 6.0 oz Munich Malt (9.0 SRM) Grain 2
14.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt – 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 3
11.0 oz Chocolate Malt (350.0 SRM) Grain 4
8.0 oz Black (Patent) Malt (500.0 SRM) Grain 5
1.8 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.0%] – Boil 60 min Hops 6
0.8 oz Fuggles [4.5%] – Boil 15 min Hops 7
0.8 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.0%] – Boil 0 min Hops 8
1 pkgs California Ale (White Labs #WLP001) Yeast 9

2 ounces of Theo’s Chocolates cacao nibs were added during secondary.

